Strolling through Central Park, Museum seeking and more partying

8.6.13

Woke up to a beautiful day in the Big Apple this morning – even though the weather reports had said differently! I spent the morning strolling around before heading off to Rockefeller Center/Top of the Rock to meet up with Mitch from Contiki.

Image

New York City

Image

Sun is shining!

I was running a bit late (got lost when I thought I knew my way) and so I had to do a mad dash to get there on time for my ticket, but once I got up the top, it was definitely worth it! By far, the best way to see the city in all its glory!

Image

Top of the Rock

Image

Mitch and I – Top of the Rock

Image

Empire State of Mind

Image

Top of the Rock

Image

Top of the Rock

Image

Top of the Rock

Image

Top of the Rock

Afterwards, we made a plan to meet up at the Guggenheim as we’d seen that it was a donation entry to get in, so Mitch went off to organise his accommodation and I took a stroll down 5th Avenue for some (window) shopping.

Image

5th Ave

Image

5th Ave

Image

5th Ave

Image

Saw this and it made me smile!

Made it safe and sound (and shopping-less) to Central Park and got excited when I thought about all the movies I love being filmed here! Totally ran around like a little kid and then as I was walking, thought about how far I’d walked…until I google mapped myself and realised I hadn’t even made it a fifth of the way in. This place was huge!

Image

Central Park

Image

Central Park

Image

Turtles!

Image

Central Park

Image

Central Park

Image

Cute…but I’m single and alone here.

Image

Central Park

Image

Squirrel!

My phone was dying and I needed to get in touch with Mitch so I made my way to the nearest Apple store..and found this semi-underground one! Super cool – to get in, you walked down a twisted staircase to a basement like store!

Image

Apple Store

Image

Apple Store

Ended up getting to the Guggenheim to find out that it wasn’t donation time until another three hours away and that Mitch wasn’t able to make it, so instead, I got a photo of the place (which was the main reason I wanted to go) and was on my way back to the hotel.

Image

Guggenheim

The other girls had gone to see Annie tonight, but we made a plan to meet up afterwards as well as with Canada (Kiera) and her sister, Emma and go for drinks. On the way into the main city, I jumped on the sub…and as it headed away from the city, I realised I’d gotten on the wrong one! Luckily it’s easy to get on and off and I managed to maneuver my way back to the city!

Image

Whoops…wrong sub.

Since I had some time to fill in, I made my stop at Grand Central Terminal, another place to visit from my bucket list as there are so many movie moments I could recreate there!

Image

Grand Central Terminal

Built by and named for the New York Central Railroad in the heyday of American long-distance passenger rail travel, it is the largest train station in the world by number of platforms – 44, with 67 tracks along them. They are on two levels, both below ground, with 41 tracks on the upper level and 26 on the lower, though the total number of tracks along platforms and in rail yards exceeds 100. The terminal covers an area of 48 acres.

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

I just wanted a photo cos it says “Poughkeepsie” and I thought that was a made up place until then…

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

Image

Grand Central

 

 

 

 

Favourite Grand Central moments:

Image

Grand Central

Image

New York

Made my way to Times Square to wait for the girls and spent some time taking in the rush of the city, since it was my last night there! Skyped Nana and Pop in the middle of it all which was cool to be able to show them where I was.

Image

Times Square

Image

Times Square

Image

New York Times

Finally found the girls and we made our way in search of a bar to spend the night at. Tried to go to a rooftop one, but they wouldn’t let us in since we weren’t wearing heels! Found another one but that place had a $20 entrance fee which none of us were too keen to pay for, so we made our way to a three-storey bar that looked fun from the outside.

Image

Canada and I! ❤

Image

Lauren, Marissa, Sofie, me and Canada x

Lauren, Marissa and Sofie ended up leaving early on in the night, so I stayed with Canada and Emma and we found another (better) bar up the road that had good dance music (even if the speakers kept cutting out every now and then) and we danced our last night together away!

Image

My fav Canadians xx

Image

Love her – teaching me how to Dougie. No joke.

Image

Cheers.

Great way to leave my new favourite city!

Leave a comment